White Plains DWI Defense Attorneys
DWI law is a complex and constantly changing area of the law. If charged
with a DWI in Westchester County, New York or the surrounding counties
you need an aggressive attorney who knows and understands the law as well
as the local criminal courts and the prosecutor’s office.
Our DWI lawyers are former prosecutors and know how the prosecution will
present the facts of your case. We can determine the strength of the case
or the weakness of the case to guide you towards the best possible result.
It is essential to have sound legal counsel with an aggressive legal strategy
to protect your rights.
DMV License Suspensions
One major aspect of a proper DWI defense is know and understand the consequences
of a DWI arrest as it pertains to suspension and/or revocation of driving
privileges (license) in New York State.
suspension of driving privileges (license) is a loss of the ability to drive for
a set period of time. New York State DMV requires a “suspension
termination fee” before a suspended license can be reinstated. The
fee to lift the suspension is $50.00.
revoked driving privilege (license) is the loss of right to drive in New York
State. After the revocation period expires the motorist is required to
re-apply for a new driver’s license or privilege with the New York
State Department of Motor Vehicles. The reapplication fee is $100.00.
Suspension & Revocations Associated with a DWI Conviction
Upon a conviction of a DWI offense in New York State the court transmits
to the DMV (form MV-1192). This is the court Order of Suspension and Revocation.
Motorists should be familiar with this form prior to a DWI conviction
to properly understand the suspension/revocation consequences. The DMW
form MV-1192 is below:
Conviction Suspension & Revocation Times
- Aggravated DWI (.18%) with a child 15 years old or younger in the vehicle
- 1 Year Revocation;
- DWI (.08%) – 6 Month Revocation
- DWAI by Drugs – 6 Month Suspension
- DWI or DWAI with prior in last 10 years – 1 Year Revocation
- DWAI by Alcohol – 90 Day Suspension
- DWAI with prior in last 10 years – 6 month Revocation
- Any DWI, motorist under 21 – 1 Year Revocation
- Any second DWI, motorist under 21 – Revocation until 21 years of
age or 1 Year
- DUI outside of New York State – 90 Day Revocation for alcohol offense
and 6 Month Suspension for drug offense.
If a motorist is found to have refused a chemical test while under suspicion
for DWI the DMV will assess a $500.00 civil penalty and if it is the second
refusal in 5 years the fee is $750.00.
White Plains DWI Lawyers Free Consultation
As a White Plains DWI lawyers we offer a free initial consultation. We
will review your case, discuss your options and present you with a legal
strategy. We explain DWI defenses as well as the different driver’s
license suspension or revocations.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DWI offense call us today
to discuss how our attorneys can help. Our offices are conveniently located
in downtown White Plains and our phone number is (914) 946-4808.