Westchester County Criminal Defense & Family Law Attorneys
Free Consultation 914.840.5104
DWI Implications & Potential Consequences for Minors

Underage Drivers & New York’s Zero Tolerance Law

Aggressive and Skilled DWI Lawyers Located in Westchester County

Our aggressive and skilled Westchester County DWI lawyers have represented numerous underage drivers who have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) and Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol (DWAI) and the traffic offense of "driving after having consumed alcohol". In all instances, it is absolutely vital for an underage driver to have legal representation at every stage as the consequences for an underage driver can be devastating to their lives and future. We understand the consequences and we obtain excellent results for our clients.

What is New York State's "Zero Tolerance" Law?

The Zero Tolerance law applies to a person under age 21 who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or more but not more than .07%. If a person under the age of 21 is stopped by a police officer for having consumed alcohol and the police officer determines that the person appears to have consumed alcohol, the police officer has the right to detain that person for the purpose of giving them a breathalyzer test. If that person refuses to take the breathalyzer test, the person will be subject to a license revocation of at least one year.

Results of the Breathalyzer Test for Underage Drivers

If the underage driver's BAC is .02% or more, but not more than .07%, they will be charged with the traffic offense of "driving after having consumed alcohol." They will then be provided with a notice to appear for a hearing before an administrative law judge of the Department of Motor Vehicles. See "The DMV Administrative Hearing" below.

If the underage driver's BAC is more than .05% but not more than .07%, the police will have the option of charging you with "driving while ability is impaired by alcohol" (DWAI). This will require the underage driver to appear in criminal court and they will face the same penalties and consequences as a driver 21 years or older. Please visit our DWI and DWAI Penalties page for more information.

If the underage driver's BAC is more than .07% but less than .08% they will be charged with the offense of "driving while ability is impaired by alcohol" (DWAI). This will require the underage driver to appear in criminal court and they will face the same penalties and consequences as a driver 21 years or older. Please visit our DWI and DWAI Penalties page for more information.

If the underage driver's BAC is .08% or more, they will be charged with the crime of "driving while intoxicated" (DWI). This will require the underage driver to appear in criminal court and they will face the same penalties and consequences as a driver 21 years or older. Please visit our DWI and DWAI Penalties page for more information.

The DMV Administrative Hearing

If an underage driver is charged with having operated a motor vehicle after having consumed alcohol (BAC of .02% or more, but not more than .07%) and are scheduled for a DMV administrative hearing the police officer has the burden of proof and must prove the following.

Proof includes:

  • The underage driver was the person who operated the motor vehicle;
  • A valid request was made to submit to a chemical test (e.g., breathalyzer);
  • The chemical test was properly administered and showed that the underage driver had consumed alcohol (.02% or more); and
  • That the police officer made a lawful stop of the underage driver's vehicle.

The underage driver will be entitled to provide evidence in his or her defense, including any witnesses and is entitled to have an attorney represent them at the hearing. At the conclusion of the hearing, the administrative law judge will make a finding. If the administrative law judge makes a finding that the police office met their burden of proof then, at the very least, the underage age driver's license will be suspended for six months and they will have to pay a penalty of $125.

In addition, in order to have their driver's license reinstated after the six months the underage driver must pay an additional $100 fee in order to have their license reinstated. If an underage driver is with having driven after having consumed alcohol, the charge will remain on your record for three years or until you are 21, whichever is longer. If the underage driver has any prior alcohol-related traffic offenses on their record, their driver's license will be revoked for one year or until they reach the age of 21, whichever is longer.

Conditional License

If an underage driver's license is suspended under the zero tolerance law, and they do not have any prior alcohol-related convictions on their license, they may apply for a conditional license with the DMV. This will require that the underage driver enrolls in and completes an approved Driver Program. The conditional driver's license will permit the underage driver to drive back and forth to work and school ad is not the same as a full license.

Schedule Your Free Initial Consultation

If you are an underage driver who has have been charged with the traffic offense of "driving after having consumed alcohol", DWAI or DWI we are here to protect your rights and your driver's license.

Contact us online or by telephone at (914) 840-5104 to speak with a Westchester County DWI lawyer.

Why You Should Choose Our Law Firm

  • Experience & Perspective

    65+ years of combined experience, including criminal prosecution

  • Published Legal Authors

    Co-authored national bestsellers on DWI and criminal defense

  • Award Winning

    Avvo Clients’ Choice Award for Family Law and Criminal Defense

  • Premier Counsel

    Selection for Super Lawyers® (top 5% of New York attorneys)

Get Started with a Free Confidential Consultation

  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.

Read What Our Clients Have To Say:

  • “The result was everything I wanted no criminal convictions and most of the charges were just dismissed.”

    Former Client
  • “David Sachs and Andrew Proto demonstrated strong character, punctuality, support and constantly searching for all options to win my both cases, and they made it possible.”

    Adela L.
  • “The best part was anytime I needed to speak with Andrew, he was available and always offered to answer my questions even on weekends.”

    Former Client
  • “I would recommend David's services to anyone.”

    David M.
  • “One was reduced from 6 points to 2 and the other one was dismissed. Overall, I am satisfied with Andrew's services.”

    Jimmy T.
  • “I am most appreciative of how he takes time to discuss & clarify the issues, details & possible outcome of the case.”

    Richie G.
  • “I have worked with Keith Brown and he always took the time to answer my questions. He always had a plan for me and explained everything clearly.”

    Jason B.
  • “Mr. Riebling is very professional, knowledgeable and confident.”

    Marcella J.
  • “They are winners!”

    Former Client
  • “Exceeded My Expectations”

    Samir K.
  • “Honest and Dependable and Caring”

    Thomas J.
  • “David gave me the feeling that I was going to be well protected in my trumped up, ridiculously racist criminal charges against me.”

    Darius L.
  • “David Sachs is a fantastic lawyer and overall good guy”

    J.B.
  • “In the best hands”

    Karina
  • “Andrew contacted me to discuss and followed through 100% on everything he said.”

    Leonard M.