DWI Defense in Westchester County, NY
Our Team Can Fight for Your Freedom
Have you been arrested for drunk driving in Westchester County or a surrounding
area? If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), you
are facing serious penalties that can impact your life for years. Having
a proven DWI defense lawyer on your side will dramatically reduce the
probability that you will face serious legal consequences such as:
- Jail time
- Loss of your driver's license
When it Comes to DWI Defense, We Literally Wrote the Book
Co-Authored National Bestsellers on DWI Defense
The DWI attorneys at
Riebling, Proto & Sachs, LLP can provide you with a personalized legal defense to vigorously defend
and protect your rights. We will help you understand the drunk driving
license implications throughout the pendency of your case and what effect
a DWI conviction will have on your
Our DWI lawyers make the following commitments to their clients
- We will promptly return your telephone calls
- Meet with you to discuss aspects of your case
- Work tirelessly to protect your rights
- Give your case the attention it deserves
Understanding the DWI / DWAI Laws in Westchester, New York
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
- Under New York State DWI Laws, a person who is operating a motor vehicle
with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above can be arrested
and charged with the misdemeanor crime of driving while intoxicated, which
is commonly known as "DWI." If you were convicted of a DWI in
the last ten years prior to your new DWI charge, you may even be charged
with a felony.
Misdemeanor vs. Felony DWI
- All DWI charges carry severe consequences, including license suspensions
and/or revocation. If you are charged with a misdemeanor DWI, you will
be facing up to one year in county jail or three years' probation,
fines and an ignition interlock device. If charged with a felony, you
could be facing state prison time or five years' probation, fines
and an ignition interlock device.
Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) by Alcohol
- Driving while ability impaired by alcohol is commonly referred to as "DWAI."
This drunk driving charge is not a criminal charge and applies to individuals
who are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration that
is between .05% and .07%. Although the charge is not criminal, DWAI penalties
can include a $300 - $500 fine, up to 15 days in jail, or both.
Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) by Drugs
- DWAI charges can also apply to any person who is operating a motor vehicle
while their ability to operate the motor vehicle has been impaired by
drugs. Depending on the circumstances of the arrest, this charge can either
be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or felony offense in New York.
Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated
- The aggravated driving while intoxicated laws in New York State prohibit
a person from driving a motor vehicle with a BAC of .18% or more. The
main difference between the DWI under .18% and this charge is that a person
faces much longer license revocation and even higher hefty fines.
Driving While Ability Impaired by Drugs & Alcohol
- In New York State, drivers are strictly prohibited from operating a motor
vehicle while impaired by the combined influence of alcohol and any drug
or controlled substance. The Westchester County District Attorney's
Office takes these charges seriously and it's important that you have
an experienced Westchester DWI defense attorney to protect your rights.
The Child Passenger Protection Act & Leandra's Law
The Child Passenger Protection Act or "Leandra's Law" provides
stiff prison penalties for someone convicted of a DWI when a child under
age 16 is in a car at the time of the offense. If a child passenger was
injured or killed because the driver was intoxicated or impaired by drugs,
the driver may face 15-25 years in prison. Leandra's Law made New
York's consequences for drunk driving among the strictest in the nation.
Hundreds of Westchester County residents have been arrested under the
law, and it is vitally important that you contact our experienced DWI
defense lawyers to ensure that you are protected against these consequences.
Under Leandra's Law, all drivers with any DWI conviction are required
to use ignition interlock devices for at least six months. The devices
are mandatory even for first-time offenders, and also even if no child
was a passenger in the car.
Drivers must pay for the ignition interlock device installation and maintenance
Ignition Interlock Devices
An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer instrument installed in
a vehicle. In order to start the car, the driver must breathe into the
device and provide a breath sample. The car will not start if alcohol
is detected. According to the New York State Department of Criminal Justice
Services (DCJS), installation of an interlock device costs between $75
and $100, and there also is a monthly fee that ranges from $70 to $100.
For more information about how a DWI charge affects your license, please
Driver's License Implication section of this website for information about driver's license suspension
and revocation. In Westchester County, NY, the installation and monitoring
of this device is done by the Westchester County Department of Probation.
Proudly Serving Westchester & All Surrounding Counties in New York
The highly skilled and experienced DWI defense lawyers at Riebling, Proto
& Sachs, LLP have successfully handled countless DWI/DWAI cases throughout
Westchester County and surrounding counties. Our Westchester County DWI
attorneys are former prosecutors who are now dedicated to your defense.
Some of the courts we regularly appear in include:
We also will appear in the New York Counties surrounding Westchester County.
Schedule Your Free Initial Consultation Today: (914) 840-5104
If you have been charged with DWI/DWAI in New York, Riebling, Proto &
Sachs, LLP is here to protect your rights and your driver's license.
Contact us online or by telephone at (914) 840-5104 to speak with one of our Westchester
County DWI defense attorneys.
Your initial consultation won't cost you a thing!